It’s On A List

August 5, 2009

I use a To-Do list.  Unique.  Mind-blowing.  Earth-shattering.  Not.  My list is none of these things.  It’s a simple rolling list; if I don’t do something on that day it gets added to the next days list.  I get some sort of satisfaction by crossing things out.  My book is full of lists for each day, with each line scratched off.

Anyway, if you don’t use a To-Do list, a WIP (Work In Progress) or some variation you either should or you don’t have enough going on (in which case you should find something to do).  They are very handy.my-desk

But the problem I find is that some things, the hard things, get rolled over day after day.  I have some tasks that the only progress I make with them is to write them down each day.  This is pretty hopeless.  I obviously need to do something about this.

So what I’ve decided is to write a tiny, tiny action plan next to each.  I’m not talking about the full SMART principle (if you’re interested in that, see this handy blog post).  More like a name, a verb, some key point.  Hopefully this will point me and keep me in the right direction.

Do you have any hints or tips?

Leave a Reply

